Graphic Collage Final

Image

I began taking many pictures when we began this project; Pictures of everything from my everyday life to the little stuff that we often oversee but there wasn’t a whole lot that stood out to me. Being that my project is about my family and my friends I decided to Skype with them to share what I was doing and get my mom’s approval to use some of the pictures she had taken. As we were talking I looked out the window and saw a beautiful sunset just past the horizon. I showed them through Skype and they showed me the sunset on their end. It helped me realize that although we are over 300 miles apart and a six hour car ride that we are still here together.

I waited the next night for a shot at that same sunset and thought about them the whole time. They have always been here for me and they have done so much for me yet they have never once said you owe me one. I believe that this is the true definition of what it means to be family and real friends. As much as you fight or get upset with each other you will always have them there when your world goes dark. They will always be right there to light it back up and carry you out of that darkness.

I stumbled across this quote as I was reading over the course of the week and I couldn’t keep it out of the project. The “author” named Hafez was born in the 1300’s in Iran and this passage has been passed down since he first said it. The meaning behind it gets greater and greater each time I read it. Even after it have finished my collage I read it and the meaning still changes to me but the people in the sky will be there forever. No matter what life throws at you the love that they share through our relationships is eternal. It will never go out even when the sun goes down. No matter how far away they are, they are still just a phone call away and will still be able to light any darkness in my life.

Adding the border really capped of the image for me. It made it an image and shows “my box”. The ones inside the box will always be there for me. I am certain that they have my back and I can always count on the. I also brightened the photos to show what really matters to me. It is those people that are in my box that I really care about and would do anything for. I enjoyed editing those image to make them look so perfect.

This collage will have a different meaning for everyone who looks at it but I hope when you see it that you will be reminded of those people in your life. Stop what you are doing, take five minutes and call them. They will be able to put that smile on your face like no one else can. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a comment